//
you're reading...
musings

The twins of pleasure / pain

too many often seek pleasure as if it would be, could be, is, the cure for pain

they are fundamentally wrong

for pleasure to exist, it must start with pain. sans pain, you cannot find enjoyment for pleasure emerges, shoots forth, from the normalized anxieties (pains) we are all doused in by each day

that is why I question myself when it comes to the efficacy of my relationship with her

for she seeks pleasure without pain; she seeks easy; she seeks life without any struggle. she skims the surface and wants the stars.

I know better. I know great pleasure is found by being in the struggle. I know that digging deep, by embracing the pain and the hardship — by becoming the struggle, if only in a brief moment — for then I – we – can taste the sweetest of pleasures, we can taste the true sweetness of life.

we can taste those very stars but it starts in the sweat of our souls.

she does not believe what I know. I believe what she does not know. however then can we ever meet?

we cannot.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 304 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
