//
you're reading...
musings

It’s not about you

The past few days have been a hell of a roller coaster…and you know what? I hate roller coasters.

I like to be in control. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’m a control freak — no, I can relinquish my grip at times (yes, you can drive the car; no, I don’t mind doing Thai again for dinner tonight; yes, it’s fine if we watch this show that you’re watching and I’m not) — I can be flexible, but it is not nearly as easy as I would like it to be.

That’s the problem with spending too many years by yourself and independent. You learn to rely on yourself. It’s a necessary skill. It’s required for your survival. It also doesn’t teach you to share (easily), to bend (easily), to let someone else take the wheel.

See: my hatred of roller coasters.

Therefore, with my relationships, I like to be the one doing the dumping. I like to be the one deciding whether or not we stay together. I like to be the one calling for reconciliation (which I never do, not really).

But, this time, maybe it’s because I decided on two things:

  1. To sit with my feelings instead of attempting to numb them through drinking, Tinder, and bad behavior.
  2. That if there was any chance of a real reconciliation, it would require me to be as mentally, emotionally, and physically fit as possible…because, if anything, it is going to be a long, long ride, and I won’t be the one in control of it.

All of that has finally let something seep into my head and my heart like never before: it is not just about me. It is not just about what I want and what I need. It is not just about my feelings.

If you want to build a life with someone, it has to be about them, too, and about the two of you together. It needs to be about an “us.”

And the best thing I can do for this possible us is bring the best bits of myself:

  • Not the broken, numb, and hungover
  • Not the desperate
  • Not the controlling and angry
  • Not the false front, the bravado, not the “A-game” (emp. on game)

Instead:

  • My head (mind), heart (emotion), and hands (body)
  • My vulnerability, faith, and resiliency
  • My honesty and truth

All of me, no games, no manipulations, no false charm, no reservations. All of me, all of me.

I hate roller coasters. Always have, always will, but I am willing to get back on this one.
(Someone, drop the bar and let’s launch this ride again)

 

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 304 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
