//
you're reading...
musings

For want of everything

The Devil took him to the highest of mountains and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and then said:

“If you do one act of worship towards me, all of this I shall give you.”


I want everything for us.

I want for you to be sitting next to me on this trans-Atlantic flight to London and then onwards to beautiful Poland. For us to fly the skies and see the world together sans limits, sans boundaries.

I want for us to go on an adventure, to a foreign and exotic land, and to eat our fill and hike to sunsets and to luxuriate in hot springs and spas from the Aegean Sea to the villas of Odessa, in dachas hidden from the reaches of Moscow and the tentacles of D.C.

I want for us to have a full life.

And for us to have a full life with our future children, where we can takeĀ them on trans-Atlantic flights to see the roots of both their families and to know, from the get-go, that there is a whole world out there that is theirs for the exploration and the taking.

I want for them to know as much as they would like and to experience as much as their mothers will have. To know how to drink tea mid-air and to give gifts and business cards with two hands and to greet in more languages then they can speak to make welcome every sort of person they come across in life.

I want for them to swim every day in their backyard. I want for them to try what they like and to haul gym bags early in the morning and to be slovenly and fit, to be brave and to be safe, and I want all of that, first and foremost, with you.

Just you.

You may need more time to decide but I won’t pretend that I do. I don’t. I know. So when you are ready, let us carve out a place in this world, not from a default setting and not based on the limitations of the common and the bounded, not from the boundaries of parents who were not in positions to be as brave, but a place for us that is made for us.

And for our future. Let us carve out our future. Preferably not with a spoon, but just a little faith and gumption should do.


“Get away from me!” said the Christ, “for you well know that worship belongs to God and God alone.”

And the Devil left him.

[You sent me away, for I had entreated you from a place you found to be of sin.]

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

September 2016
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 304 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
