//
you're reading...
musings

these are a few of my favorite things…

My mother always said about her church people that you are obligated to love them, not to like them.  

I think, over time, if I stay with her that I will love her, but love stops being enough if you never learn to like, or worse yet, you forget what you liked and how much you did.

This could be the one I want to stay with for a very long time and so what I need to do is make sure that I not only love her – because I’m starting to and I will and it will be overwhelming and wonderful and terrifying – but that I keep liking her.

What’s the best proof? You write it down.

So, I started my list. You need not know everything on it, but I do:

#2. She’s honest.
#12. She is bold and confident with her body.
#21. She has adventure in her soul.
#27. She has opened up her space and life to me.
#13. She will leap even if it scares her.
#15. She tries.

These are just a few of my favorite things that I like about her and I want to inscribe them on my heart, on my mind, and on my soul. These are the things that will make an argument feel not destructive, but just another step to learning more about each other. These are the things that will make a fight not feel like the end, but just another beginning to try again.

These are the things that will ensure that I keep loving her.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

One thought on “these are a few of my favorite things…

  1. This is beautiful.

    Posted by writerspilecki | 10 April 2016, 1116 EDT

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

April 2016
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
