//
you're reading...
musings

No good answers for poorly asked questions

“So, why aren’t you dating someone? Why haven’t you met someone yet?”

I hate that question. It comes to me, often, from well-meaning friends, absentminded yet caring coworkers, anxious parents and gentle doyennes.

I get it in supermarkets, in gyms, at the park, while pumping gas, via text message, e-mail, and carrier pigeon–

Why. Why not? Why not yet? What are you waiting for? 

As if, as if, after all this time, as if it is a choice. As if it is a deliberate action on my part, a snipe on my bit, to remain alone (not lonely, no! never lonely) and without partner in a world, in my world, which has been designed, most fundamentally so, for partnership.

Why. Why not? Don’t you know how? Don’t you know how? Don’t you know how to love?

As if, as if I am defective, or that I have some secret sin, harbor some hidden failing so vast and profound as not even be speakable in good company. Oh, there must be something wrong (read: something broken) inside of me, something that can be sensed in the cut of my eyes, the twist of my lips, the jut of my chin.

I tire. I tire of the question. I tire of the failure on my part that is not a failure, not really, it just hasn’t happened yet, I just haven’t met anyone yet, not the right person, not that right time, but regardless, it feels as if it is a failing.  An absolute one. Something most unbecoming.

I tire. I tire of the search and of the waiting. I tire of the wanting and the loss of hope.

I am tired of having no good answer to poorly asked questions.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

July 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
