//
you're reading...
musings

The allure of men’s bodies

I love men’s bodies.

I know, I know, that sounds as if I have betrayed all of womankind as a lesbian. But, I think it’s a secret many of my tribe has, and even if they don’t, so what?

We like what we like. We desire what we desire. To pretend something else for another person’s sensibilities — a faceless, conglomerate of an-other — is to betray my own self forĀ that other. I don’t think I’ll get a reward for it. It won’t even be acknowledge.

Even if I did, I won’t lie. I love men’s bodies.

I love them for their lack of shame. I spend hours in the gym every week and as I lift my own weights, my eyes cannot help but slip to the left and to the right, to puffed biceps and flat, muscle-hardened triceps; wide pectorals and striated hamstrings… There is a beauty in watching a perfect Olympic lift executed. Or watching someone do a set of wide-stance piking pull-ups. My workout partner, all six feet and six inches of him, working his way through a set of 225 bench presses – wow, I am entranced. I cannot look away.

I would not want to.

Now, this is not to say that I despise women’s bodies. Furthest thing from it. They are not in competition, these loves of mine.

But, it is different and it feels like a dirty secret.

(It isn’t dirty, no, not to admire the results of hard work. In fact, most of the men I know would enjoy knowing this, but it is neitherĀ for their ears nor their hearts. It is for mine.)

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

June 2015
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 302 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
