//
you're reading...
musings

Living out loud

I want to live a public life.

No, by public, I don’t mean like a celebrity or a D-lister or Instafamous. Frankly, I couldn’t give a shit about what other people think about me, especially like that, when they absorb a millimeter of just a public face and take it to describe the depths of me and my life and my soul. No, no, no, no, not that public.

I mean public by being part of a community that knows me and I know it. Of a community that I am, obviously, of and deeply embedded in. I want to live my life in public, out loud, visible and known, understood, appreciated, reviled – if I must – but present. Fully engaged and constantly learning and growing with it.

  • I do not want to stick myself in a box, gilded or not, with a pretty wife, gilded or not, with useless things, gilt or bronze
  • I do not want to live quietly; in a cage; in a hole; like a zombie; headphones stuck in my ear canals and fingers pressed flat to glass screens, my nose merely a smidge away from being a smudge on the that same screen
  • I do not want to be with someone who would rather hide me away then let me free

I will not be tied down, leashed and made to be smaller, to be less than — I won’t allow it, no, I will not be shoved into a corner and parred down into a box.

I want.

I want so much; I need it, really, need it like all people need fresh air, clean water, and good food to grow and to thrive. For the past few months, I feel like I have been slowly hidden away, slumbering like Sleeping Beauty, awaiting a false kiss.

No more. This sleeping beauty – this sleeping dragon – has awoken herself.

I will live loud and in public. I will speak loud and carry a big stick, too! I will do as I need to because to live my the life I want, (no other) must live it.

must do it. And I will. And I am.

I am.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
