//
you're reading...
musings

Home

On Saturday, I looked around, in my house, and it had become home. The very walls were alive, echoing of laughter and voices and a joyful noise – it was filled with that joyful noise, of bonhomie and friendship, the bonds of humanity, a grand synergy that only comes from love, respect, and true affection.

When I do choose someone – make no mistake, it will be a choice – that’s the spirit I’ll be looking for. I won’t be in search of her making me happy above all others (it’s not about that). I won’t be looking for her to fill a hole (that’s not her job or role in my life). I won’t be in expectation of her being perfect (no one is).

No, I will look at her and she must feel like my spiritual home.

There will be days when I won’t feel like I love her, but I will always like her. (My mother has often said that it is her obligation as a Christian to love people, but she has no obligation to like them – I like that nuanced sentiment). There will be days when she may even be the source of my discomfort or irritation, but those are passing things. If I ever find the day in which I don’t want to talk to her, then I’ll know we’re in real trouble, and that’s the day I’ll dig deeper.

But, I will never, ever again seriously be with someone who does not feel like home. I have been searching all my life for this and in the last six months I have finally started to sort out what that looks like with my real, growing adult senses.

Perhaps it is only a bottle of wine and good company. Maybe it’s a late night phone call, tethered to someone else by wireless connections shooting through the air. Or it could be someone loading the dishwasher for me after a long day; it’s spending a weekend moving heavy boxes and furniture, together; it is saying words that heal and lift up instead of hurt and cut down; it’s the quiet kiss to a tired, aged forehead.

It is home, it is home, it is home, and I finally have one now and so there is space for one more.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

April 2014
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 302 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
