//
you're reading...
chemical reactions

Creepy Little Weirdos of the World

I am a heat-seeking missile for the creepy little weirdos of the world.
(Note: I include myself in that population).

Hear me out; let me explain. When I walk into a bar or a party, especially when single, I have a very specific approach. I always do a quick survey of the crowd, I then get myself a drink (alcoholic or non-alcoholic doesn’t make a difference) and then I find a good perch in which I can see the comings and goings. My radar is up, my meter is on the watch, and it’s looking for–

Her. If she’s in a group, she’s towards the edge of it. Or she’s sitting alone. Now, this is not because I’m a creeper but because those are the people I genuinely like to talk to. I like the shy folks, I like people who are in it but not of it, because I feel they are more interesting. They have stories; they have history; they have something to say when given space to say it.

Normal people don’t interest me. They never ping my radar, never make my needle jump. But I can sense a creepy little weirdo a mile away.

I was at a mixer last Thursday with a friend, having drinks and just talking about life. The objective was to meet people but I just wasn’t ‘feeling’ the crowd. So we’d decided to have one last drink and just then a woman walks in with a group: tall, pretty, lithe — and, mind you, not the first one to walk in of the night nor the last — but my libido literally sat up and said “hello”.

My friend was blown away by it. He said I glowed but couldn’t see what I saw in this woman. In retrospect, the micro-cues must have been there: pulled in/tight shoulders, limited eye contact, a sort of self-protective position; the cues of discomfort in the situation or the crowd, the cues of…

Yes, you got it, a creepy little weirdo.

I went to the bar, got a fresh drink, and meandered my way over to her. I don’t do pick-up lines or kitschy crap. I led with how I always do, a simple and direct “Hi, I’m–”

She turned to me and said “Hi, I’m [x]” and then immediately turned her back towards me.

Now, first impression: rude! But, put it in context. This was a mixer that was billed and setup purely as a low-pressure/low-risk yenta-led event with the stated directions to “make sure you greet everyone in a friendly fashion” and so, you now need to go with your second impression, which is–

She’s a creepy little weirdo. How did I come to that conclusion?

    1. She violated all standard social norms: I approached from where she could see me, I said hello, I said my name clearly and I smiled. Most people, as a standard reaction, will respond in a somewhat friendly fashion. It had happened earlier that night while I was getting a drink at the bar. It happens to me all the time. I am a friendly, approachable person, especially when I’m twinkling like I was that night.
    2. She did respond – spoke clearly and directly, but made no eye contact; not aggressive but…hmm, almost fearful but not quite.
    3. She turned away but not actually back towards her group because she hadn’t been talking to them either.

I know my people and I know that if I had waited another twenty minutes or so while she had her first drink to calm her nerves that probably would have gone better. I could have walked back over and did a do-over. I didn’t because I wasn’t in the mood for it then and now, a few days removed, it has left me with a lesson that I will take to heart:

My meter, my radar, is stuck on people who are mostly insecure and that is the last thing I need because it triggers the hell out of me. 

I love the creepy little weirdos of the world, I am one of them, but I can’t date them anymore. I can’t do that if I want to be happy, if I want a family, if I want to move forward in life and enjoy what comes next.

Good-bye, shy, socially-awkward, pretty girl in the corner. I’m going to miss you.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

January 2014
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 304 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
