//
you're reading...
fiction, musings

Clothe thyself

You used me like you use a piece of clothing. Buy it because you like it at the time. Discard it when it’s old or doesn’t fit you anymore or you no longer like the color.

But people are not like clothing.

They can grow and stretch with you; shrink and change color and adjust to winter, spring, summer, and fall. People can be with you forever and can last a lifetime if you let them.

You have to be willing to bear the risk of letting someone in and you? You are not capable of that. You have too much fear in you. You’re so¬†afraid. I can smell it off of you like horse manure or shit on a shingle.

You can’t and won’t bear the risk. So discard me now. Discard me; at least I’ll have the opportunity to get away unsullied.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Clothe thyself

  1. This is how I find many people. But these people are the temporary ones, and help us to appreciate the permanent ones. Much love x x

    Posted by ordinarygirlinbrum | 2 November 2013, 2054 EDT
    • I’ve been mostly lucky in life to not run into folks like that – so it’s always jarring for me when I do. I don’t know how people get along in life treating other people that way.

      Posted by Quinn | 5 November 2013, 1758 EDT
      • I don’t know either, but I would imagine that’s because I could never be one of those people. When people think so differently to yourself it can be hard to figure them out. Doesn’t stop us trying though eh…

        Posted by ordinarygirlinbrum | 5 November 2013, 1810 EDT

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 302 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
