//
you're reading...
chemical reactions, fiction, modern love

Modern Love: Love Is Love

So, you didn’t marry me. And I didn’t marry you. We chose other people but that doesn’t mean we don’t love each other.

We have spent a lifetime together. We raised our families together, our children. We fought hard and told each other secrets and were there for each other through losses and triumphs and challenges and celebrations.

So I never held your hand; but I’ve always been there to hold you up and you me. So we’ve never kissed; there’s not a question in my mind that I have loved you with a completeness and a fierceness that rivals all the powers of this world.

So we’ve never slept side by side… Yes, true, but I gave you my heart a long time ago and I’ve been keeping yours in my chest for safekeeping ever since.

Who says that our love isn’t as equal a love as it is? Must we rank marriage versus family versus friends versus inanimate things? No. I refuse that. I refute that.

I have loved you and loved you and loved you and you have done the same for me. I would make all the same choices again and I know you’d do the same.

We’ve loved each other all our lives. Is there anything more in this world than that?

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 302 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
