//
you're reading...
musings

The Liebster Award

liebster-awardThank you, ordinarygirlinbrum for the nomination. It was both unexpected and fully appreciated.

What is Liebster Award? [paraphrasing]
The Liebster Award brings recognition to smaller blogs – all nominated blogs will have under 200 followers.

Rules

  1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answer the 11 questions you were asked, and create 11 questions for your nominees.
  3. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.
  4. Display the Liebster Award logo.
  5. No tag back thingy.

11 Things About Me

  1. I’m the youngest of six, therefore there is nothing anyone could do to me in school that a) my siblings hadn’t already thought of and tried or b) could frighten me
  2. Therefore, I can honestly say I was never bullied in school. I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I had moments of “mean girl”-ness.
  3. I never sleep through the night.
  4. While I only speak English fluently, I do read 4 other languages (French, Italian, Portguese, Spanish), and I used to be able to sing phonetically correct in Chinese (Cantonese and Mandarin) and Korean.
  5. I once didn’t wear a single pair of denim jeans for 4 years.
  6. I don’t like holidays; they bring out the worst in too many people.
  7. I have more ties and pairs of cufflinks than my father and my brothers.
  8. I can’t sleep on planes – it makes for difficult cross- and inter-continental flights.
  9. When I get nervous, I stack and neaten things in a slightly compulsive manner.
  10. I don’t like cuddling with my partner in my sleep; it’s weird and sweaty and I already don’t get enough sleep as it is.
  11. I once burped the alphabet thanks to a can of Coke; my brother was a little too proud.

11 Questions For Me To Answer

  1. What is the first memory you have?
    I was four or five, kindergarten class, and my (evil) teacher had yelled at/scolded me for not paying attention to getting my paint for a fingerpainting art exercise. I distinctly recall being furious – I’ve always had a temper – as I had to sit and not participate with the rest of the class.
    And that, folks, is how a rebel is born.
  2. Are you the kind of friend you would choose to have as a friend?
    Absolutely. I’m a paragon of humanity! But, seriously, yes – in terms of similar values, ethics, and moral strength, which are the terms in which I judge my own personal worth as a friend, I totally would want to be friends with someone like me.
  3. How do you spend the majority of your free time?
    Listening to music / compiling playlists, reading (I do 50-75 books a year + 750+ articles and essays), cooking, exercising, and getting in extra sleep where possible
  4. If you were to write a book, what would you call it and what would it be about?
    I would probably call it either the name of my blog, Raw She Said or something like And Then This Was Nothing. I don’t know if it would be fiction or creative non-fiction, but it would be about the intersection of humanity and technology and how that shapes our daily lives when it comes to family, work, and relationships.
  5. Do you have any superstitions?
    Nope!
  6. When was the last time you tried something new?
    Last weekend.
  7. What is the first thing you notice about people you meet?
    Their shoes. My dad used to shine his shoes by hand every weekend and it was a mark of character the taking care of that function. I tend to check people out feet-first to see if they take the effort.
  8. Is torture ever a good option?
    I wish I could say no, but I’d be lying if I hadn’t thought it something that has its most unfortunate uses. I think it is a weapon of last resort.
  9. Would you rather be hated or forgotten?
    Hated.
  10. Have you ever regretted something you did not say or do?
    Absolutely. I regretted not going away to college; it would have changed my life in a positive way, I’m certain.

11 Questions For You To Answer

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. Who motivates you in your daily life?
  3. If you could do one thing without any negative risk, what would it be?
  4. What is the last book that you read that stayed with you?
  5. When is the last time you spoke to your best friend?
  6. What would be the trip of a lifetime for you?
  7. If you had your own museum, what would you put in it?
  8. Why do you love (or hate or remain indifferent) the place that you currently live in?
  9. What signifies home for you?
  10. What would you like to be remembered for?
  11. Who was the first person to break your heart?

My Nominations

  1. malinamalie
  2. caffeinated sonnets
  3. Sassy Sass
  4. Mabel and Evelyn
  5. a little dose of keelium
  6. Scribbling in Heels 2.0
  7. And She Laughs
  8. life of a willow
  9. Queery Everything
  10. Ergocakes
  11. Normal Is The New Weird

Think that’s it! Thanks again for the nomination, ordinarygirlinbrum!
Everyone you should go check out her blog, it’s awesome!

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
