//
you're reading...
musings

Lies We Tell

Why do we lie?

We say we love someone unconditionally, but that’s not true. There are conditions – sometimes unspoken, sometimes merely implied – but they exist and they are adhered to.

“You can be anything you want to be…” as long as it’s not anything that embarrasses the family
“I will always support you…” but only if you do this and not that
“You don’t have to be straight…” but I won’t understand or accept you if you’re not

Why not be upfront about it? Why not just say what you mean and mean what you say? Is it so difficult to be honest?

At least then I’ll know where I stand. At least then I’ll know what the rules are and aren’t and there won’t be any surprises.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
