//
you're reading...
fiction

Raw

“Raw,” she said. “I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?”

One may only try.

One may only try to lift the sun up every morning and to blow out breaths so hard that they create the winds that move to and fro the oceans. One may only try to turn the earth, like mighty Atlas, on their shoulders and hold at bay the deep cold of empty space and keep to the surface of the ground the feet of all mankind.

One must only try.

For this is what we do for the ones that matter and the ones we love. Nature gave us not hands like that of the badgers nor eyes like that of eagles; it gave us merely heart and mind and together we must work that which is the province of the gods, this making and unmaking of life.

For her, I would tear apart the mantle of the sky and shower down on her the very stars of the heavens and leave glowing comets at her feet. For her, I would rend the curtain between this life and the next, I would give her the fruits of this soil, and by sheer force of will pull up roots and trees and mines and rocks and magma; I would give her all that I am and that there is because that is what she has asked for and she deserves nothing less than everything that has been and everything that will be.

One must only do.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Curtain Call | "Raw" She Said - 25 December 2013

  2. Pingback: A raw moment | "Raw" She Said - 21 March 2014

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

April 2013
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 301 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
