//
you're reading...
musings, poetry

Not Your Butch, Not My Lady

It is my hand on the small of your back
It is me stepping in front to hold open the door for you
I will carry your packages
I will install your shelves
I will hammer in nails; lay tile; hang pictures

But I am not “your butch”
And you are not “my lady”
Why must we label things?
Are we children who must give everything a name
For us to confirm its existence?

I will cook you dinner
I will not make you breakfast or lunch
I will do the laundry and fold everything
(except the fitted sheets)
I will not clean; there are limits to my domesticity
But I will happily pay for the service

But I am not “your butch”
And you are not “my lady”
I do this because I care for you
Not out of obligation because of how I may look
Or how you may look opposite to me

I love heels and boots and feathered hair
I love it on me and I love it on you
I enjoy picking you up and pressing you into the sofa
I love it when you do that to me, too
Unzip my dress; undo my tie
Unwrap me like a Christmas present

But I am not “your butch”
And you are not “my lady”
We are what we are
We are what we need to be to, and for, each other
Love me as I love you
Completely

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Not Your Butch, Not My Lady

  1. Love this! x

    Posted by becca687 | 30 March 2013, 1516 EDT

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

March 2013
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 304 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
