//
you're reading...
fiction

What You Deserve

“You deserve more,” she told me.

I know that. I know that I deserve more than what’s currently being given me: sporadic phone calls, empty texts, and formless promises that will amount to vapor. I know this like I feel the coming rain in the creak of my knees, like I hear the tortured cracks of my spine when I twist in my bed, sleepless, night after night, heart-sick and mentally-discombobulated over thoughts of, and wanting of, you.

I deserve more than this.

But, that’s why we have friends – to give reminders for things set aside, put aside, and forgotten in the slipshod dash for connection and romance and intimacy and love. In life we’re always student drivers and friends are the ones who slam the instructor brakes to stop the crashes that they can.

You are a crash; you are an accident; you are a jackknifing tractor-trailer and I am the car that is about to get slammed off the mountain. We are front page news; we are a train-wreck; we are all the things that could go wrong and will go wrong and are going wrong because—

I deserve more than you will ever be capable of giving. I don’t need it, and I may have partially convinced myself I don’t want it, but let’s get to the brass tacks here, let’s get real and honest: I deserve more.

I deserve more than you. And I’m going to get it.

About Quinn

In it but not of it. A reformed player, now watcher. Speaker of raw truths.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Raison d’etre

"Raw," she said. "I want something primal. I want something bare and naked. I want you to give me this life raw, unbidden, unhidden, free, fair, and true. Can you do that? Can you do that for me?"

One may only try.

March 2013
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address if you would like to hear words that are worth it.

Join 302 other followers

Follow "Raw" She Said on WordPress.com
